Page 1 of 1

Why does Flagfox need to add itself to both the tab and main context menu? Why is there no option to disable this?

Posted: Fri Mar 26, 2021 9:35 am
by avada
Hi!

I see no value in this, but it worsens the clutter in the context menus for sure. To me the icon context menu is more than enough. I don't even use this too often.

Re: Why does Flagfox need to add itself to both the tab and main context menu? Why is there no option to disable this?

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 4:03 pm
by avada
Apparently I can't even hide it via userchrome.css.
I had to type it by hand (double checked) from the browser toolbox UI, but I got the ID: "#_1018e4d6-728f-4b20-ad56-37578a4de76b_-menuitem-_Flagfox". But unlike other addons' items it doesn't get hidden. Even worse it tends to move around for extra annoyance.

Re: Why does Flagfox need to add itself to both the tab and main context menu? Why is there no option to disable this?

Posted: Wed Apr 28, 2021 4:55 pm
by avada
Hi!
So no ideas on at least how to hide the context menu item at least? No idea why that ID doesn't work, when I try to hide it.

Re: Why does Flagfox need to add itself to both the tab and main context menu? Why is there no option to disable this?

Posted: Wed Apr 28, 2021 5:12 pm
by secsecsec

Code: Select all

#_1018e4d6-728f-4b20-ad56-37578a4de76b_-menuitem-_Flagfox\:1\:submenu {
display: none !important;}

Re: Why does Flagfox need to add itself to both the tab and main context menu? Why is there no option to disable this?

Posted: Fri Apr 30, 2021 10:18 pm
by avada
secsecsec wrote:
Wed Apr 28, 2021 5:12 pm

Code: Select all

#_1018e4d6-728f-4b20-ad56-37578a4de76b_-menuitem-_Flagfox\:1\:submenu {
display: none !important;}
Thanks!
I didn't think that last bit could be the part of the selector, so I just left it out when I tried.

Re: Why does Flagfox need to add itself to both the tab and main context menu? Why is there no option to disable this?

Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2022 2:59 am
by semigeek
This solution didn't work for me, but this did: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=786

Re: Why does Flagfox need to add itself to both the tab and main context menu? Why is there no option to disable this?

Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2023 7:01 am
by aaroncfj
I found a slight adjustment to the userchrome.css code thanks to -Skav- on Reddit. He suggests grabbing the Flagfox extension ID directly from about:memory, presumably because it may change version to version, so use it to replace "extensionid" below. Note the curly braces {} from the extension ID are not required. Works like a charm for me. edit: cleaned up code

Code: Select all

menu#_extensionid_-menuitem-_Flagfox\:1\:submenu
{
  display: none !important;
}

Re: Why does Flagfox need to add itself to both the tab and main context menu? Why is there no option to disable this?

Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2023 9:49 am
by avada
aaroncfj wrote:
Thu Aug 03, 2023 7:01 am
I found a slight adjustment to the userchrome.css code thanks to -Skav- on Reddit. He suggests grabbing the Flagfox extension ID directly from about:memory, presumably because it may change version to version, so use it to replace "extensionid" below. Note the curly braces {} from the extension ID are not required. Works like a charm for me.

Code: Select all

menu#_extensionid_-menuitem-_Flagfox\:1\:submenu
{
  display: none !important;
}
That's essentially the same as before. With the "menu" text before the hashmark. Which I guess it makes it more restrictive? Probably to only menus.
semigeek wrote:
Tue Sep 27, 2022 2:59 am
This solution didn't work for me, but this did: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=786
semigeek wrote:
Tue Sep 27, 2022 2:49 am

Code: Select all

menu[label="Flagfox"], #context-media-eme-separator {display: none !important;}
It should have though. But I guess this is alright, as long as the extension name doesn't change.