I received a message [OBSOLETE]

Any feedback, suggestion, bug reports, problems....
Post Reply
Splatflys
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 11:04 pm

I received a message [OBSOLETE]

Post by Splatflys » Tue May 27, 2008 11:23 pm

I received a message to click OK or Report here I am after registering I thought the report would be in that save thingie Paste and somethings there.
So for someone like me were'e the log so I can paste it in here. :roll: trying
Regards
Splatflys.

EDIT:FireFox V 2.0.0.14
Flag Fox 3.2.5
Screen shot:
Image

http://i29.tinypic.com/122ox03.jpg

Advertisements

 

Splatflys
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 11:04 pm

Re: I received a message to click OK or Report here I am

Post by Splatflys » Wed May 28, 2008 12:00 pm

Splatflys wrote:I received a message to click OK or Report here I am after registering I thought the report would be in that save thingie Paste and somethings there.
So for someone like me were'e the log so I can paste it in here. :roll: trying
Regards
Splatflys.

EDIT:FireFox V 2.0.0.14
Flag Fox 3.2.5
Screen shot:
Image

http://i29.tinypic.com/122ox03.jpg
Why even have this So Called Report? :roll: when you have No one conferming a BUg?
Bugger OFF,I tryed
Regards
who ever I was !

User avatar
rleeden
Site Admin
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 3:13 pm
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: I received a message to click OK or Report here I am

Post by rleeden » Wed May 28, 2008 1:23 pm

Blimey, what's with the attitude?

Just because your post wasn't answered within 12 hours, there's no need to be rude. If you look through the forum, you'll notice that all posts are answered and all previously reported problems have been resolved.

Also, it would have helped if you'd followed the guidelines listed in this forum for reporting bugs - http://flagfox.servehttp.com/forum/view ... p?f=3&t=14.

Remember it's FREE software maintained by one person in his spare time. I'll let Dave decide whether he still wants to reply to your original post.

User avatar
DaveG
Flagfox Developer
Posts: 721
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Philadelphia, USA

Re: I received a message to click OK or Report here I am

Post by DaveG » Wed May 28, 2008 9:44 pm

This is an odd one... My initial guess is that it's a weird extension conflict. Seeing as obviously the other 130,000 people who use Flagfox each day aren't getting this in large numbers, I'm going to need you to provide more info on how you're getting it.

In addition to Richard's suggestion to follow our meager bug reporting checklist, I would also like to know what setting you have for opening links in Flagfox's options. (i.e. new tab in foreground, current tab, new window, etc.) In fact, I just now edited that sticky and stuck a sentence for this into #2 for future use.

Oh, and if you're curious as to what that error message actually means, I haven't got a damn clue. :)
The first part if obvious: something died while trying to open Geotool and it failed.
The second part is... strange. STATE_STOP is a built-in constant in Firefox (in nsIWebProgressListener), and not only should it be defined but I don't even come close to touching it. This indicates to me that there may be some extension listening in and it's not written quite right.

Splatflys
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 11:04 pm

Re: I received a message to click OK or Report here I am

Post by Splatflys » Thu Jun 12, 2008 9:07 am

rleeden wrote:Blimey, what's with the attitude?
Yes releeden your are right about bad attitude,don't know what came over me here I mean woow I'm even shocked :o It's as if I was persest :twisted:
sorry about the attitude.
Regards
Brains.

Splatflys
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 11:04 pm

Re: I received a message to click OK or Report here I am

Post by Splatflys » Thu Jun 12, 2008 9:39 am

DaveG wrote:This is an odd one...
I would also like to know what setting you have for opening links in Flagfox's options. (i.e. new tab in foreground, current tab, new window, etc.) In fact, I just now edited that sticky and stuck a sentence for this into #2 for future use.
The Flagfox error happens when ever I use it.
Sure thing DaveG,I've just change it from most right too Left and clicked the box for different icons see pic:

http://i30.tinypic.com/2eq5sia.jpg
DaveG wrote: Oh, and if you're curious as to what that error message actually means, I haven't got a damn clue. :)
LOL it would mean nothing to me as well mate,I thought reporting it is the best thing to do at least help..
DaveG wrote: The first part if obvious: something died while trying to open Geotool and it failed.
The second part is... strange. STATE_STOP is a built-in constant in Firefox (in nsIWebProgressListener), and not only should it be defined but I don't even come close to touching it. This indicates to me that there may be some extension listening in and it's not written quite right.
Would there be an Error report Log.txt file some where in Firefox or can I turn on error logging ? :study:

XP Home SP3
FireFox V 2.0.0.14
Flag Fox 3.2.5

Regards
Splatflys.
Thanks for your addon DaveG I find it handy.

User avatar
rleeden
Site Admin
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 3:13 pm
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: I received a message to click OK or Report here I am

Post by rleeden » Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:23 pm

Splatflys wrote:
rleeden wrote:Blimey, what's with the attitude?
Yes releeden your are right about bad attitude,don't know what came over me here I mean woow I'm even shocked :o It's as if I was persest :twisted:
sorry about the attitude.
Regards
Brains.
That's OK - we all have bad days! ;)

User avatar
DaveG
Flagfox Developer
Posts: 721
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Philadelphia, USA

Re: I received a message to click OK or Report here I am

Post by DaveG » Thu Jun 12, 2008 7:10 pm

Splatflys wrote:
DaveG wrote:This is an odd one...
I would also like to know what setting you have for opening links in Flagfox's options. (i.e. new tab in foreground, current tab, new window, etc.) In fact, I just now edited that sticky and stuck a sentence for this into #2 for future use.
The Flagfox error happens when ever I use it.
The error is on trying to open a URL, so I need to know how it's trying to open a URL. I'm assuming based on your screenshot that you use "new tab in foreground"? Or, does it do it for all of them?
Splatflys wrote:Would there be an Error report Log.txt file some where in Firefox or can I turn on error logging ? :study:
Yes, more or less, I already suggested you read this. Quoting the relevant parts:
DaveG wrote: 4) Report error messages. If an error message pops up, then you should obviously report what it says. You can also try setting Firefox to report extension errors to the Error Console. Enter "about:config" into your address bar. You want to set the preference "javascript.options.showInConsole" to true. You probably don't have this option, so right-click and select new boolean. Enter the name then enter the value of true. Now restart Firefox and then goto "Tools" then "Error Console". (be warned that this now will show errors for ALL extensions, not just Flagfox; some extensions are just plain buggy) If you see something telling, such as the aptly described "FLAGFOX ERROR", then copy the body of the text and post it here. To disable this error reporting feature, go back to "about:config" then enter the name of the option in the find bar, then right-click on it and select "toggle".

5) Test for extension conflicts. Create a new Firefox profile and install Flagfox in it. (run: firefox -profilemanager) If the bug doesn't happen there, then it's likely to be an extension conflict. Please post a full list of your extensions so we can test. Better yet, try disabling them one at a time until you find the culprit. ;)
Doing #4 will let you log all extension errors to the error console. #5 is usually the needed one for these things, as it's probably caused by a conflict with some other extension that isn't playing nice.
Last edited by DaveG on Thu Jun 12, 2008 7:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Yes, I've edited this post 4 thousand times...

Post Reply