v. 4.1 - where has the option to put flag into the statusbar

Any feedback, suggestion, bug reports, problems....
User avatar
DaveG
Flagfox Developer
Posts: 723
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Philadelphia, USA

Re: v. 4.1 - where has the option to put flag into the statu

Post by DaveG » Sun Feb 27, 2011 8:26 am

Wow, the posts here devolved so much I didn't even get notifications because Gmail declared it to be on the level of spam. (I don't blame it)

People, please, gain some perspective. Firefox 4.0 has got rid of the status bar months ago, and the final version of it will be released within a week or so. (I actually was aiming for Flagfox 4.1 to be released around now, but it got editor reviewed much faster than I expected) The world is not crumbling around you. It's an icon that shows the location of a site in the location bar. If you have a desperate desire for the status bar, use the old version a little while longer.

Please, no more rude, aggressive, or passive aggressive posts.

Advertisements

 

kuabba82
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:07 pm

Re: v. 4.1 - where has the option to put flag into the statu

Post by kuabba82 » Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:12 pm

I can't read all previous reply to see if it was already asked, but I have a proposal to you: a feature that recognize which Firefox version is installed on a pc, so if it's previous than 4.0 then flagfox shows the icon position to allow users to move icon on the status bar, if it's 4.0 leave your settings as default.
I'd like to have icon on the status bar, until I have Firefox 3.6 installed on my pc...

User avatar
DaveG
Flagfox Developer
Posts: 723
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Philadelphia, USA

Re: v. 4.1 - where has the option to put flag into the statu

Post by DaveG » Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:47 pm

No. I've said this already everywhere, and I'm kind of surprised I have to say it at all. I doubt anyone would think I removed the options by accident, therefore I did it on purpose, and thus there's no point in asking or demanding that I add some minor thing back just for you. If you want the feature for the old browser, use the old version. Magic does not force you to upgrade against your will. It'll even still avoid the captcha on Geotool for another few months.

Let's play the devil's advocate on adding detection for those who didn't update Firefox yet or SeaMonkey users. Well, then I'd have to add back the messy dynamic position code that seems to be breakable by crapware installed on other peoples computers (though fortunately, that hasn't happened in a while, but it did in the past). The new code is simpler and better. I'm not putting it back.

Even if you have some sort of obsession with the left side of the address bar, I'm not adding an option just for you to put it back there. (I don't use the word obsession lightly... there was one comment on the blog I didn't let out of moderation that rambled on for a couple screens and complained about how he knows it in his taste and DNA that the icon must be on the left)

Let's play the devil's advocate for a bit on the address bar positioning. That too would need to go away from a normal overlay again, and again bring back some complexity. Say I did decide to add a new option just to move the icon to the left, just for the dozen out of a million and a half people who want it. And then it'd be another pain in the ass to get the new text for the options dialog translated into 3 dozen languages, which while it would sound simple, would take another month. Then you know what? I'd probably have to get rid of it for Firefox 5.0. (which they claim will be out in only months, but I don't believe them yet) Early mockups for what they eventually want to do is to transform the identity button and always have one for all domain names, then have the path after it, to better show the user what site they're on. (most people can't read URLs) Then the "left side" of the address bar the flag would be going to would now be effectively in the middle of the URL. Ok, then what if I were to go further left past the favicon? Well, the favicon is getting removed from here eventually, as it's always shown twice due to it being on the tab. So first off I don't want Flagfox getting confused for a favicon. Then secondly, this whole area on the far left is being used for icons for prompts and notifications. It's where the icons for password remembering prompts and geolocation prompts and etc. are supposed to hang out, and they plan to expand this idea when they eventually add their fancy new automatic password manager. Flagfox isn't a notification bubble waiting to for you to answer a question, so it does not belong here, and there are plans for special styling over there that Flagfox wouldn't fit into. So again, we're back to having to have the flag only on the right side of the address bar.

Do people honestly think I didn't think this through or something? I posted on the blog about this, but maybe I should have rambled on so long that nobody would want to read it just so I can cover every contingency for you (which I guess I've ended up doing here). The only place that is left for now and in the future is the right side of the address bar, and it's the most logical and in my opinion best looking place. (if you have a differing opinion, good for you)

I'm going to stop debating this now; it isn't up for debate. If you want old, use old. If you want new, use new. To those who can't handle this, please learn to accept you have no say in the matter and stop posting rude to rambling crap here or on the blog or emailing me or abusing the review system on AMO. Some of you have been polite; others have been shockingly arrogant or melodramatic. There might actually get up to maybe many dozens of people who care... that means over 99.99% of the current Flagfox user base don't.
Last edited by DaveG on Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: clarify stuff said elsewhere again in this one post for people who don't read elsewhere

Doomsland
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:43 am

Re: v. 4.1 - where has the option to put flag into the statu

Post by Doomsland » Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:46 am

Aww!!! come on!
That old flag in the status bar was great.

Why even change it in the first place???

xlepws
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:34 pm

Re: v. 4.1 - where has the option to put flag into the statu

Post by xlepws » Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:58 pm

because he wants us to stup using his extension, for silly reasons.

well, as long as he's happy, we'll do as he pleases.

User avatar
DaveG
Flagfox Developer
Posts: 723
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:06 pm
Location: Philadelphia, USA

Re: v. 4.1 - where has the option to put flag into the statu

Post by DaveG » Fri Mar 04, 2011 5:24 pm

Doomsland wrote:That old flag in the status bar was great.

Why even change it in the first place???
It's comments like this that make me wonder if I should even have a forums or a blog or even a changelog at all. It's quite clear that plenty of people just don't even attempt to read anything at all.
xlepws wrote:because he wants us to stup using his extension, for silly reasons.

well, as long as he's happy, we'll do as he pleases.
I don't need spiteful children posting junk here. This isn't your public ranting place.

Look, I don't care if you can't cope with the fact that the new version for Firefox 4.0 came out before it did. It's just not possible for me to time the release precisely; the Firefox release times are uncertain and the extension review times vary wildly. There's no such thing as a status bar anymore and I'm not going to maintain old code for old versions just for you. For god's sake, I even said in replies to comments on the blog that I'll probably post a Flagfox 4.0.15 next month, mostly to give the lingering Firefox 3.0 users one last update (now that the AMO bug that prevented that is fixed and it's possible), but if anyone wants to cling to the status bar a little longer they can use it too. Eventually, though, you'll just have to get used to the flag being in a slightly different location and move on. If this is somehow a dealbreaker to you, you probably need to gain some perspective, and you may not really be using Flagfox at all. Not all of the million and a half users actually need it; if you don't, then don't use it and stop complaining.

zoom314
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 9:10 am

Re: v. 4.1 - where has the option to put flag into the statu

Post by zoom314 » Wed Mar 16, 2011 9:20 am

Ok since I do like Flagfox in the Status Bar and the Bar is gone in Firefox 4.0(Sounds like a dumb move on Mozillas part, But then they still don't listen to Me about the backspace bug, FF moves a page I'm on back to a previous web page all automatically, It's quite annoying), What about the Navigation Bar? As the Weather Bug can locate there, As can Adblock+ and their happy to be up there too. Oh I'm using Flagfox 4.0.14 with Firefox 3.6.13 currently under Windows 7 Pro x64.

rmgalley
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 11:39 am

Re: v. 4.1 - where has the option to put flag into the statu

Post by rmgalley » Wed Mar 16, 2011 11:59 am

I cannot believe the arrogance of the developer. I updated to the latest 4.0 beta version of Firefox a few days ago and soon became aware, although installed, Flagfox did not appear to be present. I hadn't noticed its change of location.

The old-style Status Bar may no longer exist but Mozilla have thoughtfully, in Version 4.0, given us the option of an 'Add-on Bar' located in the same place as the old Status Bar (View/Toolbars). All my other add-ons are successfully located in the Add-on Bar, working as intended and it's business a usual - except there is no option to locate the Flagfox icon there.

At the risk of antagonising the developer by my initial reaction to this seemingly cavalier approach to 'it's being done this way - take it or leave it' I would, never-the-less, urge an option to make available the placement of the Flagfox icon in the new Add-on Bar.

kuabba82
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 12:07 pm

Re: v. 4.1 - where has the option to put flag into the statu

Post by kuabba82 » Wed Mar 16, 2011 2:17 pm

rmgalley wrote:I cannot believe the arrogance of the developer. I updated to the latest 4.0 beta version of Firefox a few days ago and soon became aware, although installed, Flagfox did not appear to be present. I hadn't noticed its change of location.

The old-style Status Bar may no longer exist but Mozilla have thoughtfully, in Version 4.0, given us the option of an 'Add-on Bar' located in the same place as the old Status Bar (View/Toolbars). All my other add-ons are successfully located in the Add-on Bar, working as intended and it's business a usual - except there is no option to locate the Flagfox icon there.

At the risk of antagonising the developer by my initial reaction to this seemingly cavalier approach to 'it's being done this way - take it or leave it' I would, never-the-less, urge an option to make available the placement of the Flagfox icon in the new Add-on Bar.
Yes me too I believe it's a good preliminary agreement because it's not the status bar, but the add-on bar, which is present only in firefox 4...

zoom314
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 9:10 am

Re: v. 4.1 - where has the option to put flag into the statu

Post by zoom314 » Wed Mar 16, 2011 3:41 pm

kuabba82 wrote:
rmgalley wrote:I cannot believe the arrogance of the developer. I updated to the latest 4.0 beta version of Firefox a few days ago and soon became aware, although installed, Flagfox did not appear to be present. I hadn't noticed its change of location.

The old-style Status Bar may no longer exist but Mozilla have thoughtfully, in Version 4.0, given us the option of an 'Add-on Bar' located in the same place as the old Status Bar (View/Toolbars). All my other add-ons are successfully located in the Add-on Bar, working as intended and it's business a usual - except there is no option to locate the Flagfox icon there.

At the risk of antagonising the developer by my initial reaction to this seemingly cavalier approach to 'it's being done this way - take it or leave it' I would, never-the-less, urge an option to make available the placement of the Flagfox icon in the new Add-on Bar.
Yes me too I believe it's a good preliminary agreement because it's not the status bar, but the add-on bar, which is present only in firefox 4...
Yes that sounds like the Mozilla attitude with Me too... I mean We use FF too, I'd wish they'd listen to US more. I feel the users and the extension devs are at their tender mercies. add-on bar, Sounds like the old Status bar to Me, But what do I know? I just use FF. Heck I'm lucky If I can complete a post, Cause sometimes I'll be reading a page or doing something like this and then suddenly I'm back on the previous page in the blink of an eye.

Locked