Globe icon instead of flag?

Any feedback, suggestion, bug reports, problems....
Post Reply
semigeek
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2022 2:42 am
Location: Colorado

Globe icon instead of flag?

Post by semigeek » Tue Sep 27, 2022 3:36 am

I'm sure versions of this question have been asked before but the answer probably depends on details in each case.

I'm new to Flagfox, viewing a couple of British sites from USA, and instead of getting a UK (or US if that's where the server is) flag I get just a globe, and Server Location "Unknown site/CDN". In both cases the IP given is identified as CLOUDFLARENET. What's going on? Why no flag, and how would I find the actual IP address of these sites?

Example: birdforum.net - 104.21.58.89 (?)
Last edited by semigeek on Tue Sep 27, 2022 11:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Advertisements

 

semigeek
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2022 2:42 am
Location: Colorado

Re: Globe icon instead of flag?

Post by semigeek » Tue Sep 27, 2022 5:18 am

OK, this is weird. Just a couple of hours later, the same two pages are now showing a US flag, server location "United States", and different IP addresses (still CLOUDFLARENET):

Example: birdforum.net - 172.67.158.105 (?)
Last edited by semigeek on Tue Sep 27, 2022 11:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rleeden
Site Admin
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 3:13 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Globe icon instead of flag?

Post by rleeden » Tue Sep 27, 2022 11:01 am

These sites are probably using cache servers.

See viewtopic.php?f=3&t=214
And https://developers.cloudflare.com/cache/

semigeek
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2022 2:42 am
Location: Colorado

Re: Globe icon instead of flag?

Post by semigeek » Tue Sep 27, 2022 7:14 pm

Thanks, got that. Let me reframe the question: why can Flagfox sometimes locate the cache server and sometimes not, even on the same day for the same site and CDN?

And once again, if there is a specific IP address for a site itself rather than some CDN, how can one find it?

semigeek
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2022 2:42 am
Location: Colorado

Re: Globe icon instead of flag?

Post by semigeek » Tue Oct 04, 2022 10:24 pm

Here's another problem...

National Weather Service page. Geotool says forecast.weather.gov, North America, United States, Colorado, Englewood, 23.219.72.12, AKAMAI-AS, US. But flag displayed on page today is Brazil?

(Later: it's back to the usual 104.114.164.17, Chicago, US flag)

semigeek
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2022 2:42 am
Location: Colorado

Re: Globe icon instead of flag?

Post by semigeek » Sat Oct 08, 2022 1:16 am

OK, I gather there are just limits to the utility of this feature. I'll stop asking.

Post Reply